Pop Culture Heroine: Mary Lambert

The actual goddess Mary Lambert in all her badass, powerful, empowering, and beautiful glory

So I don’t know if you heard, but Mary Lambert’s new album “Heart On My Sleeve” is out! Which means we should all celebrate.

The fact is, women shape the world in all kinds of ways. We tend to think of history-makers as the people who win wars but neglect to remember the people who win hearts. It is important to keep in mind that thoughts and emotions drive public opinion and shape the world in their own way.

Mary Lambert first found fame by singing the beautiful chorus in Macklemore’s song Same Love, and I automatically fell in love her then and there. Later, I found out that she is an incredible spoken word artist (and then, to top it off, she performed at my college and I got to take a picture with her and when I told her how excited I was to meet her, she replied with “I’m so excited to meet you!” in a really sweet and genuine way). Needless to say, I am a very big fan.

By the way, if you haven’t heard her song “Secrets,” you should go listen to it (or watch the music video) right now. And then you should listen to everything else she has ever created, because her words, like messages about loving yourself, are bits of wisdom that everyone needs to hear.

Leave a Reply

